Backend workings of Streamlit

Hello streamlit engineers

I’ve been using streamlit for around 2 months now and found it very intuitive and pleasant to use.
I’m creating an app for my bachelor thesis, and in regards to that I would love to become more knowledgeable about the technicalities of how streamlit functions also in regards to security.
As far as I’ve gathered streamlit hosts a web server on port 8501 (if its free) and creates a connection from python to a react frontend.
However I cannot seem to find any documentation on how it exactly does this, nor any documentation on the security of streamlit apart from this blogpost:

Could someone kindly explain how streamlit functions on a deeper level, and what measures are taken in regard to security?

HI @Cubba2412 -

At the most basic level, Streamlit is served via Tornado:

https://www.tornadoweb.org/en/stable/

To pass information between Python and JavaScript, the protocol buffers serialization format is used:

After reading through those two, if you have specific questions, let us know and someone in the community or from Streamlit can take a look!

Best,
Randy

2 Likes

Hey Randy

Thank you for the swift response.
I’ve read (part of) the two links you provided and they explain exactly some of the things I was missing. Thank you for that.
I still have a few questions. Firstly just to be sure:

• Streamlits frontend was created with React and not pure JavaScript right?

Furthermore as far as I can understand, Protocol Buffers are used to make data structure definitions of all the Streamlit component currently in Streamlit. This allows to seamlessly send data back and forth from Python to JavaScript by serializing and subsequently deserializing the data.
This data is sent via HTTP requests made via the web server hosted by the Tornado Framework between JavaScript and Python.

• Am I missing any (major) steps in this process?

Additionally in regards to security: