Checkbox and image keeps disappearing

Summary

I’m a Streamlit newbie. I’m trying to create a GUI to help users annotate some images (multilabel image annotation). I’ve created a next button to display the images sequentially. However, when the user clicks on a checkbox, the image and all checkboxes disappear.

Steps to reproduce

Code snippet:

import streamlit as st
import os, glob

# Get list of images in folder
pathsImages = glob.glob(os.path.join("./animals", "*.jpeg"))

if 'counter' not in st.session_state: 
    st.session_state.counter = 0

if 'label_dict' not in st.session_state: 
    st.session_state.label_dict = {}

col1, col2 = st.columns(2)

def select_objects():
    col1.write('Select objects observed:')
    option_1 = col1.checkbox('Cat')
    option_2 = col1.checkbox('Dog')
    option_3 = col1.checkbox('Sheep')

st.session_state.label_dict = {'Cat': option_1,
                                    'Dog': option_2,
                                    'Sheep': option_3,
                                    }
    col2.write(st.session_state.label_dict)

def show_nextPhoto(photo):
    col2.image(photo,caption=photo)
    col2.write(f"Index as a session_state attribute: {st.session_state.counter}")

## Increments the counter to get next photo
    st.session_state.counter += 1
    if st.session_state.counter >= len(pathsImages):
        st.session_state.counter = 0

select_objects()

col1.subheader("List of images in folder")
col1.write(pathsImages)

with col2:
    photo = pathsImages[st.session_state.counter]
    show_btn = col1.button("Show next pic ⏭️", on_click=show_nextPhoto, args=([photo]))

Expected behavior:

1. The image and checkboxes should stay on the display until the “Show next” button is hit.
  2. Users should be able to click on multiple checkboxes.
  3. The checkboxes should be empty when a new image is shown.