Custom Component - Manual State Changes through st.session_state

As an exercise for myself, I’m creating a custom component: streamlit-gameboard

The idea is to have an abstract game board so that custom game logic can be implemented in Streamlit to create learning projects like Tic-Tac-Toe, Checkers, Chess, Connect Four, etc…including creating AI players.

I am completely new to React and TypeScript, so I am blindly stumbling through, working from the template provided by Streamlit. I have much documentation and cleanup to do.

The hiccup I have is in updating the component state from a manual manipulation of session state. I’ve got it working with one caveat: if the next action is outside of the component, the last manual change is reverted.

1. Place a piece on the board with a click (renders fine)
  2. Manually remove the piece via an edit to session state (renders fine).

If step 3 is some other click within the component, all is well. However, if step 3 is a click outside of the component, that last manual change to session state will be forgotten/reverted.

gameboard

Within the gameboard render funciton, I have:

const rows = this.props.args["rows"]
    const cols = this.props.args["cols"]
    const players: Array<any> = this.props.args["players"]
    const board_color = this.props.args["board_color"]
    const board_state_ss = this.props.args["board_state"]
    const key = this.props.args["key"]

// Check if board_state is being passed back to accomodate manual modification
    if (board_state_ss !== null) {
      this.state.board_state = board_state_ss
    }