D3 in React in Streamlit

Hellow there,

As a React/D3/Typescript beginner, I have mixed feelings about how I built the following demo, which takes a randomized array in Python that changes at every reload, passes it to the React component which builds a D3 chart over it with transitions :

demo

Itā€™s mostly Simple D3 with React Hooks. React Function Components with Hooksā€¦ | by Jeff Butsch | Medium with a slice of Amelia Wattenberger. I like the React Streamlit class since it handles all the render events / data fetch for me, but from reading the latter article, Iā€™m under the impression that itā€™s preferable if D3 does not mutate the DOM through React ref, so either like in the article I declaratively rebuild animations/transitions (through react-spring for example) and donā€™t use the D3 functions which mutate DOM, or drop the React Streamlit class in favor of the plain TS approach.

There are plenty other articles which debate over this D3 integration in React, so I guess my main questions are :

• how would you do D3 in Streamlit ?
  • do the pros for using React Streamlit class outweigh the cons of having D3 clash with React ?
4 Likes

Well for those interested, I decided to go Streamlit with React Hooks. D3.js with useRef + useEffect works well enough in a small custom component :slight_smile: and then I tried to cram every bit of D3 in the demo.

Some notes or things I noticed, also related to what @danthe3rd noticed in Re-sending props on load/resize :

• there seems to be rerenders on resize (I know because d3 greys the line on data update which I thought only happens on prop change, but when I resize the line greys out). Is there a resizeObserver somewhere in Streamlit ?