Hey i have a serious issue about storing things in the session state

I just found out that the all the session_state variables are stored client side, which if I understand correctly can be super dangerous for apps, that run a database (which is becoming more and more common, even with streamlit), then a malicious user could just simply overwrite the (for example) username in the session state with the use of the developer console and gain access to someone else’s account.

Or is there a security feature I’m missing ?
Need help with this ASAP

Hi @NoNeuronsNoStress ,

How do you access session state variables through the developer console?

My understanding was that session_state variables are not exposed there, but do let us know if otherwise. Thanks!

I didn’t actually do it, as a matter of fact I’m a fresh beginner with streamlit. I was just wondering if it is possible, because as I said, I just found out, that they’re stored client side. I just wanted to make sure that I am not making a huge security blunder. However if they aren’t exposed & and there is no way for the user to edit it then everything is fine.
Thanks for the quick reply

1 Like

I would love a detailed accounting of how that all works for my own curiosity since I’m not up to snuff on the nitty gritty details of security in web development.