How do I use my trained model such that the app doesn't have to train on each input?

Hi,

I got my app to work (well sort of) - shoutout to @snehankekre and @blackary for the help on a previous post.

Good stuff to know

I started learning machine learning and coding in python roughly 3 months ago and this is my first Streamlit app. I am trying to create a simple license plate detector that returns a string of the license plate which then taps into a license plate database and performs a google search of the given car brand, model and year.

The link for the app is here: https://iipeteii-car-license-plate-recognition-clean-app-xom5kv.streamlit.app/

My repo from which the app runs is here: GitHub - IIPeteII/car-license-plate-recognition-clean

The app file from which the app runs is: car-license-plate-recognition-clean/app.py at main · IIPeteII/car-license-plate-recognition-clean · GitHub

The app right now shows an error when no picture is uploaded (that’s okay because the functionality is there once the picture is uploaded).

My issue

However, as a picture is uploaded, the model starts training and that takes up to 10-12 minuts every time - this obviously isn’t ideal and I would like to know if there is a solution such that the model could be uploaded into the app and then predict on new pictures coming in.

Let me know of your ideas and solutions to this.

2 Likes

Hi @IIPeteII,

Thanks for sharing your question and congrats on getting your app live! :partying_face:

Streamlit Community Cloud now serves as a free resource for users to get started with Streamlit and deploy 1 private app + unlimited public apps. As such, it is not designed for ML training jobs. It is expected behavior that model training takes a long time.

I would like to know if there is a solution such that the model could be uploaded into the app and then predict on new pictures coming in.