Include javascript file in streamlit component for htmt render

Hello,

I am trying to implement a streamlit component with a viewer already prebuilt seemingly from webpack more specifically glvis-js for viewing 3d meshes for finite element analysis done with mfem. I am by no means a coder in javascript or react, but just trying to include a viewer to streamlit.

Is there a way or advice on how to integrate this into a component through React or Typescript? Without missing definitions (see screenshot below). I am aware that I need to create some object for some definitions to exist, but more about the 'X' is not defined

Or is there a way to include a javascript source file into the component file tree that can be referenced by __init__.py . This is because there is no hosting of the javascript file on any CDN, an example is in the code snippet below,

# __init__.py
import streamlit.components.v1 as components

def my_component(var1, var2, key=None):
    component.html("<script src='<SCRIPT_LOCAL_TO_COMPONENT>'>...</script>")

This would be the simplest way to get the application working, or is there a way to use the provided index.js wrapper for glvis.js into the frontend component from glvis-js that may not conflict with the internals? Here is the
initial conversation I started.

Any advice or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Debug info

• Streamlit version: 0.81.1
  • Python version: 3.7.10
  • OS version: macOS High Sierra
  • Browser version: Firefox 88.0

Screenshot

From github from Fanilo

Since this is more of a Streamlit usage question, you will get a bit more answers on the forum, especially if it’s about creating new components/visualizers in Streamlit, we’re always on the lookout for those!

Now regarding your question (we can go into detail on the forum :wink: ), I haven’t tested this is still intuition but if you’re trying the

def my_component(var1, var2, key=None):