Inconsistent behaviour of st.selectbox with sessions

Hello, I’m fairly new to streamlit and have been trying out some features to develop an app.
Ran into a problem recently with session states. It is related to the behavior of st.selectbox (selection getting reset to the first option) when the list of options used in the parameter changes based on another selection in the app.
Related thread here

I found a workaround for this using the session state variable along with the index param of st.selectbox.
refer to the following simplified example code which shows the same behavior

import pandas as pd
import streamlit as st

def main():
    # create two dataframes
    df1_dict = {"dropdown_cols": ["1", "2", "3", "4", "5"]}
    df1 = pd.DataFrame(df1_dict)
    df2_dict = {"dropdown_cols": ["1", "2", "3", "4", "5", "6"]}
    df2 = pd.DataFrame(df2_dict)

selected_df = st.selectbox(
                "Select dataframe to use",
                ["df1", "df2"],
            )

df = df1 if selected_df == "df1" else df2

# the following list changes based on what is selected in the above selectbox
    options = df["dropdown_cols"].tolist()

# When the session variable is not initialized
    if "selected_number" not in st.session_state:
        print("initializing session var 'selected_number'")
        st.session_state["selected_number"] = "1"

# Check if value exists in the new options list. if it does retain the selection, else reset
    if st.session_state["selected_number"] not in options:
        st.session_state["selected_number"] = options[0]

prev_num = st.session_state["selected_number"]

st.session_state["selected_number"] = st.selectbox(
                "select a number",
                options,
                index=options.index(st.session_state["selected_number"])
            )

number_select = st.session_state["selected_number"]
    # See the change in the selection
    st.write(f"selection changed from {prev_num} to {number_select}")