Interactive annotation using Streamlit

I am new to streamlit. I was trying to setup a simple annotation process for a pet project. So, I have all the filenames stored in a pandas dataframe. Now, the annotation process is supposed to have this flow:

1. Iterate over the files
  2. Read an image. Display it
  3. Annotate using radio boxes.
  4. Increment the loop counter only when the user clicks “Next”

Here is a sample similar to what I have been trying but that didn’t work out:

def annotate_data(df):
    file_wid = st.empty()
    img_wid = st.empty()
    labels = ("cat", "dog")
    go_next = st.button("Next")

for i in range(len(df)):
        fname = df["fname"][i]
        name = str(fname)

# Display the name of the file 
        value = file_wid.text(name)
        st.write(value)
        time.sleep(1)

# Display the image

# Add label using radio box

# Wait untl user press next

st.write("Done")

It would be really helpful if someone can provide some pointers

I recommend this thread that was motivated by a similar use case. Maybe you can find an answer in there. Else, maybe you can continue the thread there.

Thanks for the quick reply. I looked at that question before posting but that is very verbose and a bit diff.

So, I tried a lot based on the suggestions provided in that thread. I tried to use the SessionState as well but it didn’t work. To elaborate again, I am looking to build something like this:

1. Place three buttons Next, Previous, and Reset. The user should be able to reset the state of the button after every iteration.
  2. Display the first image. Tag it.
  3. If the user presses Next, go to the next image. Same for the other buttons
  4. To label the image, place two buttons below the image

This workflow seems straightforward but apparently I have wasted a lot of time in it. Maybe I am missing something here and you can point me in the right direction @Lutz @Adrien_Treuille