Module not found error during deployment

Hi everyone,
I am glad I have joined the community; I am also new to programming; It is my first time trying to deploy an app, but I keep on getting the following error; ModuleNotFoundError:
This app has encountered an error. The original error message is redacted to prevent data leaks. Full error details have been recorded in the logs (if you’re on Streamlit Cloud, click on ‘Manage app’ in the lower right of your app).
Traceback:
File “/home/adminuser/venv/lib/python3.9/site-packages/streamlit/runtime/scriptrunner/script_runner.py”, line 535, in _run_script
exec(code, module.dict)
File “/mount/src/improved-sniffle/Deployment_1.py”, line 8, in
import joblib
I have gone back to my virtual environment to see if I have the packages installed and yes they are already installed. I have restarted the kernel, but i keep on getting the same error.
My app is on: https://improved-sniffle-gfxfjw9yvx9tja2d8sb9hr.streamlit.app/
My Github repository: GitHub - carolmatlala/improved-sniffle: Topic classifier for news articles
Python: 3.11.5 Anaconda
Streamlit: 1.31.1

2 Likes

Streamlit Cloud knows nothing about your local virtual environment. You need to tell Streamlit Cloud to install the packages too. You usually use a requirements file for that.

Find more information in this article from the documentation and the resources linked there.

2 Likes

Hi @carolmatlala . Welcome to streamlit community.
You need to create an new file requirements.txt in your GitHub as follows:-

streamlit
joblib
numpy

Note:- Don’t forget to reboot the app after adding the requirements.txt file.

2 Likes

Even then it will still not work because there are paths to local files in the code…

2 Likes

I have the same problem for another library, I have added the requirements.txt file as well but it still is not working.
My error is as follows →
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘google.generativeai’