PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied

Hi all & @Marisa_Smith,

I am a newbie here attempting to make a basic inventory management app using Python.

I was able to deploy the app on streamlit but am getting PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied for the excel file being read and write to store the records.

I am fairly new with all this so please ignore the messy code and any other mistakes I made.

This is the repo:

1 Like

Hey @Utsav_Tripathi,

First, welcome to the Streamlit community!!! :partying_face: :partying_face: :partying_face: :wave: :tada: :tada:

I forked your repo to try your app myself, and actually, I got it up and working, with no changes to the code!

In fact, you can see the app here: https://share.streamlit.io/mesmith027/storemanagement/main/app.py

It seems to work fine and allows me to use the form and read/write to the excel file, which begs the question, what seems to be going wrong when you deploy :thinking: :face_with_monocle:

Can you do a couple of things for me to help troubleshoot:

• make a list of all the steps that lead up to your error
  • Can you take a screenshot of the error you are having?
  • Also, can you send me the email you used to set up your sharing account

Happy Streamlit-ing!
Marisa

1 Like

Hello Marisa!

Thank you for such a warm welcome!

As pointed out, the app makes the changes during the run but when I try to access the excel file from GitHub, the values are the same as before as if no changes have been made.

Also, when trying to open the app now I am getting this error again. I think you can recreate it after rebooting? Not sure how it’s happening.

Please refer to the screenshot and the log below.

1 Like

Hey @Utsav_Tripathi,