Preventing malicious bots crushing Streamlit-app

Hello folks,

i am really new to streamlit-dev. I have rolled out an app on a EC2 instance using docker. My structure is based on multi-container approach: Webserver → Multipage Streamlit-app → Restful API (with in-memory Cache). 1 day ago my app went down. After inspecting logs in all containers i have found out that some malicious requests were the last events before the container has stopped.
2023-07-15 20:06:23.349 “browser.browser” is not a valid config option. If you previously had this config option set, it may have been removed.

2023-07-16 04:00:01.653 MediaFileHandler: Missing file .env
2023-07-19 00:03:02.637 MediaFileHandler: Missing file wp-includes/wlwmanifest.xml
Stopping

It seems that the last event was a request for wordpress files
 obviously a malicious request
 but i didn’t get why the app crashed. while requesting the same with a browser: domain-name/wp-includes/wlwmanifest.xml or any other non-existing ressource it returns nothing
 nothing in logs too.

Has someone an idea, is there a bug in streamlit or it wasn’t just properly configured or probably the root of the problem is not in streamlit?

Thanks for any ideas in advance!

Hi there @aab ,

Can you share your Dockerfile and config.toml file? First let’s check what is causing this:

2023-07-15 20:06:23.349 “browser.browser” is not a valid config option. If you previously had this config option set, it may have been removed.

On another hand, did you check resource usage? Maybe there is a memory leak in your app, and each bot “visit” was building it up until it crashed.

Hi @marduk

thanks for your response. Sure:

Dockerfile:

FROM python:3.11-slim
WORKDIR /app
COPY ./requirements.txt requirements.txt
RUN pip install --upgrade pip
RUN pip3 install --no-cache-dir --upgrade -r requirements.txt
COPY ./src/ ./
ENTRYPOINT ["streamlit", "run", "main.py", "--server.port=8501", "--server.address=0.0.0.0"]

requirements.txt

streamlit==1.24.0