Session_state does not seem to be working in the cloud

I just composed my first Streamlit program.
It uses 3 pages. I am using session_state to preserve widget states between page switches.
It works just fine locally. But when I deploy it, session_state does not seem to be working.
When I switch pages, the widgets did not preserve their last state.

As I said, this is my first attempt in using Streamlit, so it is very well possible that I am doing something wrong.

Here is my code:

import streamlit as st

my_page = st.sidebar.radio('Page Navigation', ['Home', 'Slider', 'Contact'])

if 'slider1' not in st.session_state:
    st.session_state.slider1 = 0
if 'check1' not in st.session_state:
    st.session_state.check1 = False

def CB_Slider1():
    #st.session_state.slider1 = slide1
    pass

def home():
    st.write("Welcome to home page")
    st.checkbox("Check me", value=st.session_state.check1, key='check1')
    if st.button("Click Home"):

def slider():
    #st.title('this is a different page. One with a slider.')
    st.write("Welcome to the slider page")
    slide1 = st.slider('this is a slider',min_value=0,max_value=15,value=st.session_state.slider1 ,key='slider1' )
    slide1

def contact():
    st.title("Welcome to contact page")
    if st.button("Click Contact"):
        st.write("Welcome to contact page")

if my_page == 'Home':
    home()

elif my_page == 'Slider':
    slider()

elif my_page == 'Contact':
    contact()

Hi folks,

I did some searching on these forums for some session_state related subjects.
I looked at some code snippets, but most date back from before session_state was integrated in Streamlit.
Nevertheless I found something that makes my above code work.
I just added this single line in the beginning of the script:

st.session_state.update(st.session_state)

In a pure Python program this makes no sense at all, but apparantly in Streamlit it does.