Streamlit_app.py --- "This file does not exist"

Hi,

I am new to Streamlit. I set up the account and follow the instructions to link my Github. I have a school project in Github that I would like to deploy in Streamlit.

When I try to deploy the app, under “Main file path” , “streamlit_app.py” is already by default but when I click “Deploy”. It said “This file does not exist”. See screenshot. Any advice is much appreciated!

Hi @hahahazel,

First, welcome to the Streamlit community! :star: :tada: :partying_face: :star:

Can you link your GitHub repo that you’re deploying from?

Happy Streamlit-ing!
Marisa

Hi Marisa,

https://github.com/igivis7/DRS28_Hazel_n_Igor_portfolio_project

Hazel

HI @hahahazel,

I took a look at the code you sent to me. Your streamlit_app.py file has only one line in it, which is a copy of the file name itself:

streamlit_app.py

I see a bunch of streamlit app files in the folder WorkFolder_Hazel. Is this the code* you want to be deployed?

Also, your repo doesn’t have a requirements.txt file, which you will need so that our cloud platform can install all the dependencies of your app.

Happy Streamlit-ing!
Marisa

Thanks Marisa.

I am very new to Python and Streamlit. Please bear with me asking beginner questions.

Yes, I was trying different demo on your website to see it deploy. My steps: open VS code and create a new file. Copied and Pasted the demo code into my VS Code python file. Run it on terminal to see how it sees.

Now, I want to do the deploy on my project. How do I get started? I linked it to my Github
How to create requirements.txt file?

here is a GoogleSheets I just created and want to see it in deployment.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yXGRegA1jLHUw5uuOLt1djhaZjBKl8ZfRNgiK0haJZ8/edit?usp=sharing

Thanks,
Hazel

OK so since you are so new to python and Streamlit I would suggest trying something simpler first.