Unable to get the input fields

Hi all, I am new to this. Yet I am trying to do something. I have created some input fields like text_area, text_input, and some more. I am not using form for some reason. So I created a button that clears the input values( i am using session state and re-initializing the values with empty). The main problem here is I am unable to store the input values after pressing the button. Tried doing so many ways.

for sample idea:

store_the_inputfields=[]
def some_fun():
   global store_the_inputfields
   def clear_fun():
        st.session_state["inputfields_values"] =""

input fields getting the values from the user
   store_the_inputfields.append(list(st.session_state.keys()))
   button (which clears the values by calling on_click =clear_fun)

def view_values():
   st.write(store_the_inputfields)

some_fun()
view_values()

please correct me if there is any mistake

Hi @Teja_Sruthi_Varanasi, welcome to the forum!

The problem seems to be that the problem you are trying to solve (app state that lasts for the entire session, and doesn’t get lost on reload), is exactly the problem that st.session_state was created to solve. If you clear the session state, the data will be lost. Simply storing the inputs in a list store_the_inputfields won’t last, because the script is rerun after any input. I would recommend switching to a form that clears the input on submit, and storing the submitted data in a dedicated variable in st.session_state.

Ok… thanks for the reply… there the thing is I can’t able to clear the input fields that’s the reason I assigned them to null. And coming to form…

I created a multiselect. Whenever user enters option then a text_input is created for every option. In this way i can’t able to do in form. That’s the reason I haven’t used that. If there is any alternative way please feel free to share.