Whether streamlit can handle Big Data Analysis

Hi Community,

I am new to streamlit.io whether streamlit can handle big data analysis. Anybody using streamlit in production level, kindly comment. And Also we can built multiple user login web application like HTML,CSS and Javascript?

2 Likes

I donā€™t have the hard experience with it at scale that youā€™re looking for, but itā€™s so slow and unstable even with small data I donā€™t see how this could be used with Big Data at scale unless you want to pump a ton of money into paying for custom support.

Multi-user production use with logins and enterprise grade security? You saw the zero day that just happened this week right? I donā€™t think youā€™d want to use it for that unless itā€™s just doing viz of publicly available data (which is my use case but I am on the verge of giving up on it even for that).

I think itā€™s mostly good for making little tutorial posts and proof of concept examples for those who canā€™t be bothered to learn HTML, CSS and JSā€¦ I sound bitter right? Donā€™t go by meā€¦

1 Like

I have been personally using Streamlit in an enterprise setting processing Dataframes with hundreds of thousands of rows. We use ag-grid to display the data and we use Redis caching for our Dataframes that are generated via some Jupyter Notebooks. Some things to keep in mind:

1. If possible avoid doing things like groupby in Streamlit as this is rather expensive to do in Streamlit.
  2. Compress your Dataframes when stored. In our case we use compressed pickled Dataframes that we load from Redis and only load from files when the data is unavailable in the cache.
  3. We donā€™t use memoization or streamlit caching as we ran into problems when our app is deployed in the cloud. We instead rely on Redis caching.
  4. If we need to load Dataframes from files we use compressed Parquet format and this seems to make loading and parsing much faster in Streamlit.
2 Likes

Hi @hack-r ,