Why using Flask, fastAPI when there is Streamlit?

Hi there,
I am a student in data science, and I donā€™t understand why we would use a framework like Flask ou FastAPI without any UI when we can use Streamlit with a beautiful and simple UI ? Are they two things totally different ?

When I want to show a final user how to use a model I use only streamlit, I donā€™t even know how to use Flaskā€¦

Many thanks,

2 Likes

Hi @Maxime_tut -

The short answer is, they are all different projects with different goals :slight_smile:

A longer answer might beā€¦

Flask is a barebones web framework, which was a reaction to the ā€œeverything includedā€ nature of Django. Not everyone needed a login functionality, a database data model and all the other things that came along with Djangoā€™s original use-case (a content-management system if Iā€™m not mistaken, similar in nature to the Wordpress project). So Flask came along and let you start with the absolute minimum you needed to serve different pages/endpoints (i.e. different urls), and then you can add in a database piece or whatever else you wanted.

FastAPI is a reimagining of Flask in some ways, recognizing that for people who only want to create an API (but not serve web pages), that perhaps thereā€™s a more efficient way of creating APIs with a purpose-built package. So FastAPI aims to be performance-faster, easier to code for the API use case faster, implements API-specific things such as OpenAPI and JSON schemas, etc.