Adding text to pydeck scatterplotLayer

Hi, I’m a beginner with Streamlit. So far loving it!
I’m building a map using Pydeck and pydeck_chart with a scatterplotLayer and want to add some text to every ‘point’ i draw (NOT with tooltip).

1. Is there a possibility to add a short text or a label to every point in scatterplot?
  2. When i add a textLayer with the same coordinates to draw the text, the scatterplotLayer is hiding part of the textLayer , is there a way to define which layer will be in the background related to other layers?
    Thanks a lot!

Hey @yehren,

Welcome to the Streamlit community! :partying_face: :tada: :partying_face: :tada: i am so happy to hear that your loving it :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Can you post the code your working with (or github link?) and we can work on some possible solutions?

Happy Streamlit-ing!
Marisa

Hi,

My code:
view_state = pdk.ViewState(latitude=32,
longitude=35,
zoom=7,
pitch=0)

d1 = {‘lon’: [35, 35.1], ‘lat’: [32.5, 32.6], ‘name’:[‘meA’, ‘meB’], ‘prec’:[100,300], ‘temp’:[10,30], ‘elevationValue’:[100,300]}
df1 = pd.DataFrame(data=d1)
df_map1 = pd.DataFrame(df1)

tooltip = {
“html”: "Name: {name}
"
“Rain: {prec} mm
”,
“style”: {
“backgroundColor”: “steelblue”,
“color”: “black”}
}

slayer = pdk.Layer(
type=‘ScatterplotLayer’,
data=df_map1,
get_position=[“lon”, “lat”],
get_color=[“255-temp3", "31+temp2”, “31+temp*3”],
get_line_color=[0, 0, 0],
get_radius=1750,
pickable=True,
onClick=True,
filled=True,
line_width_min_pixels=10,
opacity=2,
)

layert1 = pdk.Layer(
“TextLayer”,
df_map1,
pickable=False,
get_position=[“lon”, “lat”],
get_text=“name”,
get_size=3000,
sizeUnits=‘meters’,
get_color=[0, 0, 0],
get_angle=0,
# Note that string constants in pydeck are explicitly passed as strings
# This distinguishes them from columns in a data set
getTextAnchor= ‘“middle”’,
get_alignment_baseline=’“center”’
)

pp = pdk.Deck(
initial_view_state=view_state,
map_provider=‘mapbox’,
map_style=pdk.map_styles.SATELLITE,