Multiprocessing leads to frequent app crashes

i am a streamlit newbie. I am using multiprocessing in my app. When without it the app is very robust, but when the multiprocessing is used it often leads to errors reported. I started to specify the number of processes to allocate (e.g. Pool(processes=4) – this helps a bit but still the app is unstable – sometimes is finishes execution and sometimes it returns errors.

Are there any clear guidelines as to how many processes can be used and how to properly allocated resources to avoid app crashes (when the multiprocessing is used.

Thank you!

Do you have a sample code that we can play around. Something that we can reproduce your issue. Just a minimal code.

I am running this function twice in a row. It launches functions which invoke responce from openai. Sometimes everything is fine. But mostly the second run returns in empty list. I am well under the token limit of openai

And my question is what us the maximum amount of workers that will guaranteed work and not invoke some kind of resource limit breach on streamlit

def execute_with_futures(function, input):
    all_responses = {}  # Initialize an empty dictionary to collect all responses

with concurrent.futures.ThreadPoolExecutor(max_workers=2) as executor:

futures = {
            executor.submit(function, list(input[i])): i
            for i, entity in enumerate(input)
        }

for future in concurrent.futures.as_completed(futures):
            index = futures[future]
            try:
                all_responses[index] = future.result()
            except Exception as e:
                all_responses[index] = f"Error in OpenAI API call: {e}"

# Convert the dictionary to a list, ensuring the order is preserved
    ordered_responses = [all_responses[i] for i in range(len(input))]

return ordered_responses

You mentioned crashes. Is there any error message?