Newb to Streamlit, easy Selectbox question I am sure

So I am new to Streamlit, and had a question that I could not find the answer to within the community pages (some were close). So why not post my first question?!? I am creating a multipage project map application from a CSV file. Pretty simple stuff.

I have a data frame that reads just fine, and the third column header is Office and it has generic office locations like Denver, or New York.

I created a st.sidebar.selectbox with those unique instances (33 in total) there.

I thought I would be able to have it select the appropriate df to display, but can not wrap my head around the selectbox and how to make it work. I just want my end user to select the office and it display the df for that query.

I would love to have some direction on this as I am banging my head against the wall here trying to sort this out. Could be I overlooked something entirely (which happens often sadly).

Thanks in advance…

Hey Justin
You can store the selected output from the selectbox in a variable (let’s call it option)
Then you can create a button beneath it like -

if st.button("Select"):
      # here you can write the logic to select the data with specified offices
      new_df = df[df.Office == option]
      # now you can output the new_df on screen
1 Like

Hi @andthisjustin

If you have disparate dataframes, you could append them to a list and then show them programmatically using the index of the list.

However, I suspect that you are reading data from a single dataframe with different Office values. The way I would do this is:

1. Using pandas, read the unique Office values in the sidebar selectbox widget
  2. Basis the user selection of this selectbox widget, query the same dataframe with pandas to show offices whose values = the widget value