Possible bug in app start message

Hello,

I’m beginning to get familiar with streamlit, and I’m noticing a strange behaviour.

I’m running my app with the following command:

python -m streamlit run app.py --server.port <a_port_of_my_choice> -- arg1 arg2

Here, arg1, arg2 etc. are configurations etc. that my program use though sys.argv.

Irrespective of whatever port I use, be it 8501 or 8502 or 8503 or anything, the terminal shows this:

You can now view your Streamlit app in your browser.

URL: http://localhost:8501

But the app is actually available at the right port, i.e. the one I provided.

It does not seem to be an expected behaviour, but I’m really new to streamlit. So, can someone please confirm whether it’s a bug or not?

Also, unrelated to this (possible) bug report, I’d like this message to appear some time after the app starts. In my app, I’ve some initial calculations, not all of which can be cached. So, I’d want this message to be displayed after that is done, so that the user do not see an empty page at the start. Is that possible?

Thanks.

Welcome to the Streamlit community @Yarnabrina!

My guess is that your non-standard method of running Streamlit is causing the port argument to go through sys.argv, instead of into the streamlit executable.

Is there a specific behavior you are trying to achieve by running python -m streamlit run app.py --server.port <a_port_of_my_choice> -- arg1 arg2 instead of just streamlit run app.py --server.port?

Best,
Randy

Hi @randyzwitch, thanks for the nice welcome :slight_smile:

I’m not actually sure why do you say that my method to run is non-standard. My application needs a few other configurations to be passed.

To give some details, it’s a NLP app for topic modelling, and few configurations are for number of topics to consider, number of iterations of training, etc. I’ve created a configuration file and the path to that file is basically my arg1. For now, let’s ignore arg2 as that’s optional.