SimiLo: Find your best place to live

Hey, community! 👋

My name is Kevin Soderholm, and I'm a data scientist in the banking industry. My two favorite things about data science are:

1. Brainstorming. I enjoy breaking down pain points and identifying analytical solutions. It's like a game that keeps me coming back for more.
  2. Building. Whether it's an ML model, a data dashboard, or a Streamlit app, I love starting with nothing and bringing something to life with every line of code.

Recently, I've been searching for a bigger home in a suburb around the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) for my growing family. After spending hours on it, I realized I didn't know how to find the perfect location. I could describe what I wanted down to the square footage and the number of bedrooms, but I wasn't sure WHERE I wanted to go or HOW to decide.

None of the apps out there helped me pick a place on a map, so I decided to build my own. I called it SimiLo (for Similar Locations) and realized that it could also be used to search for vacation spots, do market research, and learn in general!

In this post, I'll show you how I built SimiLo step-by-step:

1. Wrangle your data
  2. Strategize in users' shoes
  3. Methods to your madness
  4. Delight with your design
  5. Don't forget your ethics!

📍

TLDR: Here's the app and the code. Enjoy!

1. Wrangle your data

If you worked in analytics outside of academia, you know how long it takes to wrangle data. You have to do data cleaning, integration, and transformation—all crucial for analysis. Plus, sourcing data for a personal project can be frustrating. No one will guide you to a database, table, or field. You must determine the type of data that fits your solution and search for it. And unless you have a budget, you'll need to find a free, publicly available source, which can limit your options.

Fortunately, there is plenty of government data available at various geographic levels. And you can also use ChatGPT.

For example: