The ultimate athlete management dashboard for biomechanics

Learn how to measure jump impulse, max force, and asymmetry with Python and Streamlit

Posted in Community, April 27 2023

Hey, community! πŸ‘‹

My name is Hansen Lu, and I'm a data scientist specializing in biomechanics. Python and Streamlit help me analyze the body's performance and assess potential injury risks.

I built the Drop Jump app to measure an athlete's ability to adapt to the jump load, the force they generate to get off the ground, the asymmetry of their legs, and the impact of their landing. It captures and analyzes the raw motion and forceplate data so that I can share my insights with other practitioners!

In this post, you'll learn how to build it in six steps:

• Step 1. Importing the necessary Python modules
  • Step 2. Establishing the initial UX layout
  • Step 3. Reading and displaying the forceplate data
  • Step 4: Finding the points of interest with while loops
  • Step 5: Getting the net impulse, push-off impulse, and absorption impulse
  • Step 6: Saving into a dataframe

πŸ‘‰

If you want to jump right in (no pun intended), here is the app, and here is the repo code.

Let's get right to it!

Step 1. Importing the necessary Python modules

You'll need the following modules:

• Streamlit (to make a dashboard)
  • Pandas (to import, store, and save data as dataframes)
  • Scipy (to integrate)
  • Plotlyβ€”graph objects (to create visualizations)

Just type in this code:

import numpy as np
import pandas as pd
import streamlit as st
import datetime
import plotly.graph_objects as go
from scipy import integrate

Step 2. Establishing the initial UX layout

To build your dashboard, fill out the two required fields:

1. Body Weight. Enter it in lbs (it'll convert it to kgs) or in kgs.
  2. Input Zero Velocity Time. Pair this with video footage synchronized with the force-time data in a lab environment.