Using form_submit_button and st.sidebar.multiselect

Hello everyone!

I am new to streamlit and I am trying to build an app with the following functionality:

1. Select / drop some features and train a bunch of models. I created st.sidebar.multiselect to drop features and using form_submit_button to create a button to initiate training.
  2. After training, print the scores for all the models.
  3. After looking at the scores, select few models (using st.sidebar.multiselect) and plot a graph between actual and predicted for only those models.

I wrote the following code:

drops = st.sidebar.multiselect('Pick any items you want to remove from the analysis.', df.keys())
form = st.form(key = 'myform', clear_on_submit = False)
submit = form.form_submit_button('Train Models')
if submit:
    scores, features, predictions, y_test, data_raw, scaler, lr, ridge, lasso, tree, forest, gbr, lin_svr = main_analysis(df, target_name, drops)
    st.write('Here are the scores from the models that were run:')
    df_scores = pd.DataFrame.from_dict(scores)
    df_scores
    st.write('Based on the model scores above, pick the models you want to use to continue this analysis.')

best_models = st.sidebar.multiselect('Pick top model scores:',df_scores.keys())

When I run the code, I see a submit button (Train Models), I am able to train models and get the scores after I click on the submit button. When I try to select few models with st.sidebar.multiselect, everything is getting reset and reverting to ‘Train Models’ stage. The selections are not stored.

I tried the same thing using st.button, it does the same thing.

How do I store the selections after using a submit button?
Any help is greatly appreciated

Hi @ceeva ,

How about using st.session_state function to store your scores data frame . Please do check the doc for quick start .

Cheers
Avra