Configuring Streamlit deployment parameters in Kubernetes

Hi all,

I am struggling to setup the proper configurations for streamlit to run in a deployed environment (I am quite new in the deployment step)

I have an app that works well locally =D and that I am trying to deploy it. The app itself is not really relevant since I can replicate the error with streamlit hello so I will try to explain the environment.

The app is deployed in a kubernetes argocd environment with a container based on a Dockerfile. The app pod serves at the port 8501, but an nginx server captures the ingress in port 80 from a myapp.company.domain.com

The environment itself is working and functions correctly with a hello world Flask app. That is if I access the myapp.company.domain.com in port 80 it redirects correctly to my flask app in port 8501.

Now the problems starts with my Streamlit app (the hello app). The docker file that creates the app is exactly like this from the docs
apart from the entrypoint that says:

ENTRYPOINT ["streamlit", "hello", "--server.port=8501", "--server.address=0.0.0.0"]

If I deploy like this, I get only the streamlit/index.html)

If I change my entrypoint to:

ENTRYPOINT ["streamlit", "hello", "--server.port=80", "--browser.serverAddress=http://myapp.company.domain.com", "--browser.serverPort=80"]

My pod crashes and I get the error:

2023-04-04 10:18:52.154 Serving static content from /usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/streamlit/static
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/streamlit", line 8, in <module>
    sys.exit(main())
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/click/core.py", line 1130, in __call__
    return self.main(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/click/core.py", line 1055, in main
    rv = self.invoke(ctx)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/click/core.py", line 1657, in invoke
    return _process_result(sub_ctx.command.invoke(sub_ctx))