FacetGrid with Slider

Hi all,

I am new to streamlit and want to use it to visualize a series of distributions over time. I’ve encoded the “time” variable in a slider, and the visualization is a FaceGrid from seaborn. However, when I implemented this, the UI was very slow. I used st.cache on all the data loading and processing functions, and the only thing that is happening is the generation of the FacetGrid itself upon a change in the slider value. I’ve attached a gif showing the issue.

The dataset in question is around 36k records. I was curious if I am doing something fundamentally wrong, as I had thought this kind of use case is exactly what streamlit was for. I would greatly appreciate anyone’s help on this!

Hi @ArvindR -

From your gif, it does look like the data is being loaded multiple times, which would certainly slow things down. Can you post the code you are running?

Best,
Randy

@randyzwitch here is the code, I swapped out the function code to make it more readable. I used @st.cache on each function though so I’m not sure why it would reload data everytime.

@st.cache
def load_data():
    # return data loaded from CSV files in a dict

# Combine the datasets and standardize the column names
@st.cache
def combine_yearly_data(loaded_data):
    # Combine data from CSV files into a single dataframe 

@st.cache
def filter_out_bad_responses(data):
    # Filter out bad data

@st.cache
def filter_to_top_metros(data, num_metros=25):
    # Further filter data

# Prepare data for visualization
data = load_data()
combined_data = combine_yearly_data(data)
filtered_data = filter_out_bad_responses(combined_data)
top_metros_prepared_data = filter_to_top_metros(filtered_data)

year = st.slider("Year", 2007, 2017, step=2)
vac_stats = top_metros_prepared_data[top_metros_prepared_data['YEAR'] == str(year)]\
                .groupby('METRO')['VACMONTHS']\
                .agg(["count","median"])

bins = np.arange(0,26,1)