Folium Component (bi-directional communication)(WIP)

Hi,

Love Streamlit. Great work folks.

I was wondering if someone is working in a Folium component. I understand that with st.iframe/st.html we will be able to render static content, but no bi-directional communication with Streamlit. I’m a Data Scientist fluent in Python, Pandas, Numpy and Folium, but little knowledge with javascript. Willing to help but it will be great to make a team with someone who understands fast the structure of the components.

All suggestions are welcome. Anyway, I will try to find time to explore components in the meanwhile.

Have a nice day.

2 Likes

Hi @Juan_Calvo_Ferrandiz, welcome to the Streamlit community! As far as I know, no one has claimed Folium (@tc1 sent some messages to the maintainers of Folium, but not sure where that stands).

In terms of bi-directional communication, the components framework does allow for this. If you are willing to take the lead on creating the plugin (maybe start a Git repo and post it here?), we’re happy to contribute and answer questions. I’m not a JavaScript person either, and I was able to get the basics down yesterday afternoon.

1 Like

Hey @Juan_Calvo_Ferrandiz and welcome the community!

Seconding both of @randyzwitch’s comments:

• No one [at least that we know of] is working on a Folium component yet, but its one of the most requested libraries in the community.
  • If you’d be willing to take the lead on it, we’d love to help contribute/answer questions.
1 Like

Hi!

Ok. Great to know @tc1 and @randyzwitch ! Let me evaluate this weekend the time I will have in the next weeks.

Please, anyone interested in working in this task, present yourself in this thread o DM me.

Have a nice day everbody!. :smile: :vulcan_salute:

1 Like

Hello :wave:

What kind of bi-directional communication would you use with Folium? (I’m not a Folium user)

However if you want to embed Folium maps statically, st.html() does the work:

import folium