JSME React Component

Hi Folks,

I would like to include the open source molecule editor JSME into a Streamlit app.
Iā€™ve found out that there is already a React component: https://github.com/DouglasConnect/jsme-react
However, Iā€™m not getting it to display in my app.
I used the component template and added something like:

import { Jsme } from 'jsme-react'
class MyComponent extends StreamlitComponentBase { 
  public render = (): ReactNode => {
	return (
    <div>
   <h1>Hello World</h1>
	<Jsme height="500px" width="800px" />
	</div>
	  )
  }
}
export default withStreamlitConnection(MyComponent);

The ā€œHello Worldā€ shows up but not the rest.
I am very new to React, JS, etc.

Anyone any idea how I could get it working?

Many thanks in advance.
Cheers,
LeChuck

1 Like

Nobody?

Hi @LeChuck, welcome to the Streamlit community!

Iā€™ve forwarded this internally to our front-end group (unfortunately, I donā€™t have JS experience to help you here).

Best,
Randy

Hey @LeChuck,

Thanks for your patience. I took a look at your example, and it unfortunately falls into a bucket of component types that would not work at the moment. Essentially, jsme-react is making a request for the main library jsme. We originally designed our application with security in mind and blocked all requests to outside sources (Through Cross-Origin Resource Sharing or CORS).

JSME is weird because itā€™s not an importable library like most other libraries are. The workaround today would be to download the JSME library (not the jsme-react library) and load the library locally (we would need to test that, but if more requests are made outside, it would not work). Sorry if that seems like a lot. It might work better using the template-reactless setup.

The good news is we studied how to securely remove this block measure, and we found a solution that we hope to fix soon, hopefully by the end of the month.