Streamlit on Azure

Hi Experts

I have made a docker container with pandas and streamlit. My streamlit container runs like a dream on my local laptop. But when I try to run it under Azure App services it hangs:

Do you have any ideas?

I think this could be very cool if we could understand what the issue is docker, Azure or Streamlit…

Hi @sojohan, I am not an Azure expert, but can you double check you don’t need any special configuration to enable Websockets? Is it supposed to work out of the box on Azure? Can you share the content of the network tab? Chrome tools -> Network

Thanks,
Matteo

I am also having this same problem. I have implemented all the suggestions on this forum to no avail. If anyone has been successful in deploying to Azure, a written guide will be much appreciated.

Hi @Kerelu and @sojohan

I have successfully deployed awesome-streamlit.org via Docker and Azure. It’s actually running at https://awesome-streamlit.azurewebsites.net/.

I had a lot of problems before eventually getting it working.

The most important to solve was to discover that you need to switch “Always on in the configuraiton settings”. Otherwise your docker container will be closed down after X minutes of inactivity. Leading it to have very, very long response times.

I also set folderWatchBlacklist = [''] in the config.toml file.

I also setup a script to ping my web site every 5 minutes to keep it being responsive. It’s running inside the docker container. I’m actually not sure this is needed. But I still do it.

Then I did a lot of other things to solve this. But some where because I did some very special things with streamlit. So these where changes to the code and should not be relevant to you.

I would really like there to be a guide and could maybe also find the motivation to write one the next time i deploy a streamlit app to Azure via Docker. But I don’t know when that will be unfortunately.

See my docker files and the ping script here

For a lengthy discussion see