New Component: streamlit-code-editor, a react-ace code editor customized to fit with streamlit with some extra goodies added on top

Hi,
I have created a code editor component based on react-ace but whose appearance is customized to fit with Streamlitā€™s look. I also added the ability/option to add a customizable info bar, menu bar, and customizable buttons.

I am relatively new to Streamlit and was well into this project when I learned of the already existing Ace Editor component (okldā€™s Ace Editor). However, I believe there are enough differences and additions to warrant sharing.

Warning: This project started as mostly an excuse to learn React (and I got hooked real quick :grin: ) and thus I do not consider it production ready.

Installation:

pip install streamlit_code_editor

Resources:

Demo reel:
basic settings

demo-pt1

adding info bar and custom buttons

demo-pt2

5 Likes

Hi @bouzidanas

Thanks for creating this new code editor component!

Best regards,
Chanin

1 Like

Hey again,

I just want to add some updates for those who have started using this component or are planning to.

First, streamlit-code-editor has moved to a new location since version 0.0.9. Check it out here:

Second, if you look at the gifs in top post here, you may notice that the editor flashes when any of the settings in the inputs above it are changed. This happens for two reasons:

1. The editor doesnt have a fixed key set (using key= argument) and so it is replaced by a newly created one each time its arguments change or that part of the page is rerun. This results in the collapsing expanding effect seen in the gif.

2. The custom themes used by this component are loaded dynamically which results in a delay compared to default theme loaded instantly. This results in the color change that is most noticeable when applying the dark custom theme.

I am happy to say that these issues have been resolve (as far as I can tell). The custom themes are loaded instantly.